Catherine Heggen, Richard J. Evans Award Recipient 2024


Celebrating Catherine Heggen, Richard J. Evans Award Recipient 2024




Urban Design Planning

Richard J. Evans Award Recipient 2024

Director Catherine Heggen

Richard J. Evans Award Recipient 2024

The Ratio team is proud to congratulate Ratio Director: Urban Design Catherine Heggen as the worthy recipient of VPELA’s 2024 Richard J Evans Award.

This prestigious annual industry award honours the late Richard John Evans and is given in recognition of outstanding contributions to planning in Victoria for those who have demonstrated a sustainable commitment and contribution to town planning or the environment, demonstrating inspirational and leadership qualities throughout their professional activities.

Catherine has made a significant contribution to the town planning and urban design profession for more than four decades. She has contributed to hundreds of projects across Victoria and serving as a trailblazer to women in the public and private sector as an exemplar of professional excellence.

Throughout her professional life, Catherine has been a prominent practitioner at prestigious consultancy organisations Tract, Fulcrum, Message, and Ratio Consultants. The last of which she has formed part of the directorial team for more than five years.

Catherine’s work has seen her advise a range of governmental agencies, local councils, and private sector clients across a range of urban strategy, statutory control, place-making, and urban design matters where her heritage, land acquisition, strategic planning, and landscape impact knowledge ensures she is amongst the foremost sought-after consultants in her field.

Catherine has served as a Chair and member of Victoria’s Heritage Council, a jury member of AILA and PIA awards, a member of the Queen Victoria Women’s Centre building committee, and a member of the Ministerial Advisory Committee on Planning System Reform where she has demonstrated leadership and generosity amongst her peers and the community.

The Ratio team is delighted to commend Catherine on her professional legacy and its recognition as the recipient of 2024 Richard J. Evans Award.